top of page

"I'm an 80%er."

I hate when I hear people say, "I give 110%". Really? You really give 110% to whatever you do? Mathematically it is possible according to Economist Stephen Shmanske. (Read more here.) I still don’t like it but evidently his big brain is better than mine at this sort of thing so we'll go with it for now. But as for me, yeah...I'm an 80%er.

If you're asking yourself, "He's really admitting he only gives an 80% effort at work?, it's partially true. For those that know me well, I'm prone to shiny object moments or as one good friend called them, squirrel moments. I've always been this way as I embrace change and looking at and doing things differently. Not only do I enjoy the challenges associated with first and second order change, I also view this personality trait as a necessity in staying viable and current in a work culture that easily gets stagnated in its thinking. So when I talk about giving 80% effort, it's with two caveats. First it's making sure I hand off the task at the right time. And second, I hand it off to the right people.

I'm acutely aware that there comes a point during a project where I become, for lack of a better term, saturated. This is when I feel the project is to a point where my hand is no longer needed as much and the primary pieces are in place and key decisions have been made. This doesn't imply that I cut all ties with the project. In reality I recognize that the final attention to details is not my strong suit and it’s then I hand it off to the right people.

Who are the right people? The right people in these instances are those who shared the vision of the project, helped grow it and refine it and are my anal-retentive closers! While there are times where this personality type can drive me absolutely jump-off-the-ledge crazy, I need them and more importantly the system needs them. Neither personality type, whether it’s my Type A or my anal retentive counterpart’s, has the right to hold the system hostage based on principles rooted in each. There are times when each must capitulate to the other in order to better the system. While my Type A personality can offend some, especially when talking about best practices in school and or school reform, I’ve worked with several anal-retentive folks who’ve restricted innovative thinking and practices through analysis paralysis.

Over the years I’ve learned some tough lessons when it comes to recognizing how I work best and with whom I work best and why. We often see in marriages for example how one spouse’s personality can complement the others. Whether it’s parenting or finances, spouses who can pick up the slack where the other might struggle makes for, in my opinion, a healthier family unit. Likewise in schools, teacher leaders and principals who know the Ying to their Yang can find a nice balance between innovative work and thinking and getting things done well and on time.

So when I tell you I’m an 80%er what I really mean to say is that I need people around me to make me better. I’ll own that without shame. As our technology integration coach Emily Hill (@mle9903) said to a colleague of hers, “Welcome to Team 20%”!

It’s better in the Middle!


It's What We Do!
Recommanded Sites
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page